History and Background



History and Background

The ASEAN Otorhinolaryngological Federation is an association of Otorhinolaryngologist in ASEAN region which was formed on 2nd July 1980 in Medan, North Sumatra, Indonesia by several founders, namely: Purnaman S. Pandi MD (Indonesia), Suchitra Prasansuk MD, (Thailand), Imran Gurbachan MD (Malaysia), N. Kunaratnam MD (Singapore), and Mariano B Caparas MD (Philippines). Members of this federation come from ASEAN countries, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

This federation was formed with the aim of fostering the study and dissemination of all aspects of othorhinolaryngological knowledge, particularly in the ASEAN region, promoting cooperation in scientific exchanges among members, and establishing closer personal and professional contacts among those interested in and working in this field.

The ASEAN Otorhinolaryngological Federation to date has organized several rapidly growing congresses such as the one that took place in Pattaya, Thailand (9th-13th December 1981), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (14th-17th April 1984), Manila, Philippines (4th-6th December 1986), Singapore (6th-9th April 1989) and Jakarta, Indonesia (28th June – 1st July 1992). Therefore, it is not surprising that the International Federation of Otorhinolaryngological Societies (IFOS) recognizes the ASEAN Otorhinolaryngological Head and Neck Federation as an important regional scientific federation of ASEAN countries.

The number of participants in each congress organized by the ASEAN Otorhinolaryngological Federation increases every year. In addition, these colleagues also come from many countries outside ASEAN such as Hong Kong, Korea, Japan, India, Taiwan, Sri Lanka, People’s Republic of China, Australia, Austria, France, Great Britain, Netherlands, Belgium, US, Saudi Arabia, and Jordan.